Tournament History

The Macao Open is one of the most prestigious tournaments on the Asian Tour, which is organised by Sports Bureau of Macao SAR Government (MSB) and Golf Association of Macau (GAM). Sanctioned by the Asian Tour, the event is promoted by IMG.

Inaugurated in 1998, the tournament will hold its 19th edition in 2017 with a total prize pool of US$500,000.

The event is held at the picturesque Macao Golf and Country Club at Estrada de Hac Sa Coloane and carries a four-day, stroke play competition format involving 144 players. The event was first broadcasted live in 2011 to over 200 countries of 850 Million households worldwide.

Here are some of the most memorable highlights, facts & figures of the prestigious event:

Year Milestone
1998 The first Macao Open was held
2000 England’s Simon Dyson was crowned Macao Open Champion. At 22, he still holds the record of the youngest ever to win the tournament
2002 Having won in 2001, China’s Zhang Lian-wei successfully defended his Macao Open title, and remains to this day as the only player to have won the prestigious tournament more than once
2007 The tournament was reduced to a 54-hole affair as torrential rain badly interrupted play. 44-year-old Lu Wen-the of Chinese Taipei eventually won, and remains the oldest player to win
2010 Macao Open was not held
2012 The Venetian® Macao-Resort-Hotel became title sponsor of the tournament, which was renamed The Venetian Macao Open. Total prize fund was increased from US$500,000 to US$750,000
2013 Four-time major champion Ernie Els made his first appearance at the Venetian Macao Open. Total prize fund also increased to US$800,000
2014 Spanish legend Miguel Angel Jimenez joined the field for the first time in a tournament won by Indian star Anirban Lahiri. Total prize purse reached US$900,000
2015 Scott Hend won for the second time over three years over arch rival Anirban Lahiri to become only the second two-time winner of the tournament. Total prize purse reached US$1,000,000
2016 Thai rising star Pavit Tangkamolprasert won his biggest tournament to-date after a thrilling play-off against India’s Anirban Lahiri


Subscribe to our newsletter!