Seven Past Winners with 46 Asian Tour Titles Look to Dethrone Pavit Tangkamolprasert

Scott Hend, the 2013 and 2015 Macao Open champion, will lead a group of seven former winners to challenge defending champion Pavit Tangkamolprasert for the 2017 crown. Taking place at the Macau Golf & Country Club on 19 to 22 October, the popular tournament will once again field 144 of the world’s most seasoned professionals, and the region’s upcoming amateur talents.

The picturesque venue has provided a happy hunting ground for the Australian star, who also finished as runner-up in 2014, and the 44-year-old will look to become the first golfer ever to hold aloft the Macao Open trophy for a third time. Hend currently shares the distinction with Chinese golfing legend Zhang Lian-wei, who won in 2001 and 2002, as the only two-time winner of the tournament.

The 2016 Asian Tour Order-of-Merit said:

“I am excited to return to Macao next week to try and win it for a third time. I have some wonderful memories at the Macau Golf & Country Club, where the course suits my game very well. I have had a solid season and a strong summer so I am quietly confident of my chances to regain my title. The Macao Open is a popular event because we are looked after very well there. Many of the players in the field are regulars who know the course very well so it will be a tough but satisfying one to win.”

Zhang, who has played in every Macao Open since its inaugural event in 1998 except one because of injury, is the first from his country to win on both the European Tour and the European Senior Tour. The China golf pioneer confirmed his participation last week alongside fellow countryman Liang Wen-chong.

Hend and Zhang will be joined by five other past champions of this important stop on the Asian Tour – 2012 winner Gaganjeet Bhullar of India, Chinese Taipei’s Chan Yih-shin (2011), Thaworn Wiratchant of Thailand (2009), David Gleeson of Australia (2008), and American Jason Knutzon (2004).

In its 18-year history, the event’s impressive roll of honour boosts of 16 winners from nine nations. Over the years, many of the world’s best golfers have graced the fairways of the Macau Golf & Country Club, including Major winners Ernie Els, Nick Faldo, Padraig Harrington, Fred Couples, Ian Woosnam and Mark O’Meara, as well as European Ryder Cup stars, Lee Westwood and Colin Montgormerie.

The four-day tournament will continue to be jointly organised by Sports Bureau of Macao SAR Government (MSB) and the Golf Association of Macau. It is sanctioned by the Asian Tour, and promoted by IMG.


Subscribe to our newsletter!